£15 Patels

JayabenI adore this photo of 70s factory strike/union leader Jayaben Desai.

It makes me think of my grandmother, though her situation was a little different.  Whilst she, like Desai, worked in a factory when she came over, she got spat on by union workers for her trouble. My granddad – a man who used to be a union shop steward – told me that as much as he disliked Margaret Thatcher, he was grateful to her for getting police to put a stop to the abuse women like my grandma got from union men.

 

Allegiances: Always a lot messier than you’d like, eh?

Leave a Reply

