Pay No Attention To That Commercial Movie Behind The Curtain

I think I learned a lot about how to and how not to write with another person when writing for profit and not fun.

Rule #1: At one point, you must both be drunk. Preferably in the outlining phase. Greases everything that needs greasing.

Rule #2: Try to write what you love, else you’ll write well structured plots that work, but are niggingly terrible.

Rule #3: If you can’t bear your stuff being terrible, don’t write for profit.

I think Martin and I can write much more fruitfully in the future. In the mean time, back to wanky plays, and I’ve got an idea for a monologue that I’m going to try and fashion. Thirty minutes? Five thousand words? Typed a thousand tonight. Could be a winner.

Leave a Reply

