Big Call

Last night, as I was trying to drift off, a new idea for a play came to me, pretty much fully formed.

I say “new idea”, it was more of a slow knocking of one faint image into another, and on and on until it avalanched and I had to get up to scrawl it all down to still my racing mind. A frantic few minutes later and in front of me was an outline for a full length piece, structured in a manner that I had first encountered on Write to Shine but had never used. Looking at this thing in front of me, realising how rare a moment it was, I knew I had to just get on and write this piece. That means: “write it now”.

I realise this involves pushing Clapham back another month again, but I’ve learnt the lesson of not following up on an idea when it’s in the white heat and think I can get a draft of this idea out pretty fast. So yep. Today I finish draft 1.75 of Bump, and start on what I will codename Kaleidoscope for now. On initial viewing, it seems strongly influenced by Joe Penhall’s Pale Horse (which I adore) and Far Away by Caryl Churchill (which I didn’t expect). Let’s see how much those sticks during the writing.

Speaking of Bump, I think it will end up being a decent little piece. I had a real breakthrough with it yesterday, and after the reading on August 1st, will see how much it’s come along. Will send it to Farokh and John Higgins tonight for feedback.

Leave a Reply

