I’m An Idiot

You ever play back an evening of your life a few days later and realised you made completely the wrong assumptions about everything?

Yeah, that.

In slightly better use of an online forum, I just watched Moneyball. While I thought I’d be loving this for being an Aaron Sorkin joint (though it turns out he re-wrote was already there…) I actually admired the restrained direction a lot more. It’s a simple movie about a complicated process, and it resisted the urge to go big in anyway, which is where sports movies often end up. Also, while there are certainly some fun Sorkin-esque moments – the player trading scene stands out – he too resists the urge to impinge his style on the piece when it wasn’t right for it. Golf clap from me.

Leave a Reply

