Home > CSSD, Writing > Some Writing From Class Part II

Some Writing From Class Part II

Using two random names from my Facebook…

 

THE WORD IS LOVE.

Lynden: …And the Word was God. We had to write a scene around that.

 

Kanika: God?

 

Lynden: Uhuh.

 

Kanika:         Mmmm….that’s a good one, I guess. You can get a lot out of

God. The big man has nothing if not staying power.

 

Lynden: God – still inspiring atheists the world over.

 

Kanika: You’ve…such a way with words.

 

Lynden: Shall we keep going? We can stay here…

 

Kanika: No, I think that’s enough.

 

Lynden: It’s not much more – we just/ took a look…

 

Kanika: To be honest, I don’t think I’ll both with most of it . Sorry. So much else on. It’s too bloody nice an evening to be thinking about God.

 

Sorry. I know you took some good notes. Really useful notes.

 

(pause)

 

She goes to pat him on the shoulder, does it once, then stops.

 

Lynden: Fine. Cool. No problem. A drink then? I. Am. Thirsty!

 

Kanika: Oooh….I would love to.

 

Lynden: Great!

 

Kanika: But I’ve given up drinking.

 

Lynden: Since when?

 

Kanika: Last week.

 

Lynden: But weren’t you drunk on Friday? At your party?

 

Kanika: Drunk?

 

Lynden: No?

 

Kanika: No, that was art. An intense…spewing, art. There were tribal influences, tough on a Western audience. You must’ve missed the introduction.

 

Lynden: Right, well. Dinner then? There’s a great Korean place around the corner.

 

Kanika: You know, I’m on this new diet. Good food is wasted on me. Worms. Jihading my colon…

 

Lynden: Kanika…look…I just need to say…

 

Kanika: Oh God no.

 

Lynden: I/ don’t know how…

 

Kanika: Oooh is that the time?

 

Lynden: It’s a/ little bit tricky.

 

Kanika: My housemate will be awfully worried….

 

Lynden: Oh…Lara?

 

Kanika: Yes, Lara .

 

Lynden: Heh.

 

Kanika: What?

 

Lynden: I mean, just at the party…while you were…performing….

 

Kanika: No!

 

Lynden: It just kinda happened.

 

Kanika: But…but…it can’t have done!

 

Lynden: I know, I didn’t expect it either! But occasionally, occasionally in the vigorous washing machine of love, even the strongest colours can bleed/…

 

Kanika: …This makes no sense…

 

Lynden: … and the dazzling red pants, and the whitest of socks – previously with no recourse for a match, find themselves thrashed together by fate and watery booze, and they flush entwined into the Kingdom of Pink.

 

Kanika: …..

 

Lynden: Anyway…I threw up on your parakeet. Stuffed him behind the sofa cushion. Sorry.

Categories: CSSD, Writing
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

